Thread: Rules question
View Single Post
Old 05-25-2012, 06:41 AM   #19
pitoufsd

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
571
Senior Member
Default
Two clarifications, one response was that the golfer had the option to drop anywhere along the flight of the ball to the hazard which is a common misconception. As many have pointed out, you may drop as far back as you want as long as the point where your ball entered the hazard is between you and the flag.

Another response referred to the opposite side of a lateral hazard "on the same line as your ball entered" which I wasn't sure what was meant. You may drop on the opposite side of a lateral hazard equidistant from the flag as the point your ball entered the hazard. For example, if your ball entered a lateral hazard 50 yards from the flag, you may drop within two club lengths of a spot 50 yards from the flag on the opposite side of the lateral hazard. No nearer, no further, it must be equidistant.
pitoufsd is offline


 

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:02 PM.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Design & Developed by Amodity.com
Copyright© Amodity