View Single Post
Old 05-15-2012, 11:37 AM   #13
Honealals

Join Date
Nov 2005
Posts
440
Senior Member
Default
What an idiotic statement. People get drunk on cough syrup because it contains alcohol (and it is one of the most widely abused MEDICINES there is). People who are conscious of their deen do look at the ingredients. Only those who don't care about their religion won't bat an eye when they are told that something may contain haraam or halaal ingredients. And once again, you contradict the Qur'an!
يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا إِنَّمَا الْخَمْرُ وَالْمَيْسِرُ وَالْأَنصَابُ وَالْأَزْلَامُ رِجْسٌ مِّنْ عَمَلِ الشَّيْطَانِ فَاجْتَنِبُوهُ لَعَلَّكُمْ تُفْلِحُونَ
إِنَّمَا يُرِيدُ الشَّيْطَانُ أَن يُوقِعَ بَيْنَكُمُ الْعَدَاوَةَ وَالْبَغْضَاءَ فِي الْخَمْرِ وَالْمَيْسِرِ وَيَصُدَّكُمْ عَن ذِكْرِ اللَّـهِ وَعَنِ الصَّلَاةِ ۖ فَهَلْ أَنتُم مُّنتَهُونَ


And medicines are either halaal or haraam. Do you just sit around passing fatawa based entirely on your desires?

There are many halaal alternatives present for many medications. There are alcohol-free cough syrups. There are medicines that can be found in liquid form or tablet form instead of capsule form. There are a variety of medicines available for almost any disease condition.

And once again, using your flimsy logic, anything can be called "medicine" and made halaal since everything we consume has an effect on the body. "Sadly", it does not work like that in Islam.

Since most medications are synthetically produced, it isn't even the active ingredient that comes into question, but the other ingredients that are found within the medications that either are used as solvents (e.g. alcohol) or for texture (e.g. gelatin in capsules) that make the medication haraam. So, the active ingredient of the drugs themselves is not haraam in most cases but since these drugs come packaged with haraam additives, the medication becomes haraam to consume. It is as if eating a piece of fish wrapped in bacon.
lol .... people generally don't look at the "ingredients" of their medicine. Doctor prescribed them , they'll take it. Simple.

It has nothing to do with "religiosity" of the people. Most people's thought won't even go there. They won't think "Hey , does this medicine contain alcohol or pork"?

Go to doctor and when he gives you a medicine...ask him...is it "halal medicine" ? Only one looking like an idiot would be you ......
Honealals is offline


 

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:32 AM.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Design & Developed by Amodity.com
Copyright© Amodity