View Single Post
Old 03-10-2012, 03:52 AM   #8
hitaEtela

Join Date
Nov 2005
Posts
536
Senior Member
Default
It's not mere doubt, it's regarding the presence of haram animal substances.
It's classified as haram by GMWA:

http://www.gmwa.org.uk/foodguide2/in...question&id=44


It isn't really as clear cut as that:

We are publishing a list of numbers, some of which are haraam and some of which are doubtful, because of its doubtful nature Muslims have to find out the source. So, some are haraam whereas some are doubtful. Mono- and diglycerides can be from plants, fish, or animals. If they're from the latter, they're haraam. Similarly, beta carotene can be from carrots or human hair. If from the latter, it is haraam. But there should be a separate list where the only the doubtful ingredients are listed. For example, cochineal is completely haraam but is listed in the same list as the doubtful.

(by the way, people should check any drink or food item that is reddish coloured because usually, the added colouring is cochineal)
hitaEtela is offline


 

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:36 AM.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Design & Developed by Amodity.com
Copyright© Amodity