Thread
:
Perfume with grain alcohol considered halal?
View Single Post
06-23-2011, 06:49 AM
#
2
BEyng6hj
Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
495
Senior Member
Assalam O Alaikum Br. Verdana,
Someone send me e-mail to answer this question. Grain alcohol is obtained by fermentation method mostly from corn. This perfume is not consider Halal based on Muslim Consumer Group's ulema recommendation and also MCG Criteria for Halal status. I also was telling Muslims on this forum that Halal certification or Halal symbol on the product does not meant Halal. Because many Halal certifying organization keep Muslims in dark by not providing their criteria for Halal status on their websites. You have already provided an example to Muslims on this forum regarding above issue. Many years back Attar is used to be manufactured with alcohol and it is used to comes from Europe for Middle East the Muslims started demanding alcohol free attar, now almost all attar in Saudi Arabia is free of alcohol. In this country you find many perfumes are made without alcohol but sometimes they used Specially Denatured alcohol. I have seen many answers from Ulema that Wadu and Namaz will not be valid if you use alcohol containing perfumes. Our skins contain many porous cells and this is two way street, sweat comes out from our body other things go inside in your body. This is the reason we should avoid perfumes with alcohol.
There is no difference in chemical formula, physical, chemical characteristic and intoxication quality of alcohol obtained from any source such as grape, date, corn, wheat. The synthetic alcohol is given a wrong interpretation for alcohol which is obtained from other than grape and date because there is no synthetic process involved in getting alcohol from other than grape and date sources because same fermentation is used to obtained alcohol from grape, date, corn, wheat, sugar cane, soybean and this is not called synthetic alcohol. In reality synthetic alcohol is made from gas and officially it is called as synthetic alcohol but there is no difference in intoxication quality between alcohol obtained through fermentation of sugar or through gas.
MCG refused to Halal certifying Krispe Kream donuts just because the donut mixes and glazes are made with alcohol. MCG Halal certification is acceptable to every Muslims. Our toll free number 1 877-515-1008 is good for USA and Canada for any Muslim to ask question regarding food ingredients, food products, Cosmetic, Medicine and Personal Care products.
There is big difference between Hanafi and other madhab regarding the acceptance of alcohol from other than grape and date.
I will advice you not to use Kandesn Forbidden Perfume from Sunrider Company just to save your prayers.
Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada
www.muslimconsumergroup.com
www.canadianhalalfoods.com
Quote
BEyng6hj
View Public Profile
Find More Posts by BEyng6hj
All times are GMT +1. The time now is
07:54 PM
.