View Single Post
Old 06-09-2011, 08:26 PM   #22
BILBONDER

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
382
Senior Member
Default
"#4 mikail2
Re: Breaking the gelatin cap to get the medicine inside?
Gelatin is considered Kosher by many Jews regardless of its source of origin. If the gelatin is prepared from non-zabiha, Muslims consider it haram (prohibited). Hence foods items such as marshmallows, yogurt, etc., showing kosher symbols are not always halal.
from:
http://www.soundvision.com/info/hala...lal.kosher.asp "

Assalam O Alaikum

The statement reported on Soundvision.com is wrong. Orthodox Kosher certifying organizations never accept gelatin from pork as kosher. Also Marshmellow certified by orthodox kosher organization is Halal if flavor is not used because gelatin is not used. Instead of gelatin it contains Halal gums to provide the same effects of gelatin.

Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada
www.muslimconsumergroup.com
www.canadianhalalfoods.com
BILBONDER is offline


 

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:04 PM.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Design & Developed by Amodity.com
Copyright© Amodity