![]() |
Questions for any MtG players
My friends and I are getting into MtG after taking a long break from TCGs, and there's some rules I'm confused about.
First, the stack -- more specifically, the response to casting creatures to the stack. For example, if my opponent casts a creature, it immediately goes to the stack and I have the chance to respond with an ability or instant, correct? So if my opponent drops a X/3 creature, I can immediately respond with an instant that does 3 damage to target (assuming I have the appropriate mana) and remove the creature before it ever comes into play? Second, can you cast as many instants as you want as long as you have the mana, even if they're the same instant? Finally, can multiple creatures block a single creature to prevent trample damage, i.e. three 2/2s block (and are sacrificed) to block (and kill) a 6/6 with trample? |
Quote:
You can only counter other spells atm. Second, can you cast as many instants as you want as long as you have the mana, even if they're the same instant? Yes, if you have lands go for it. Finally, can multiple creatures block a single creature to prevent trample damage, i.e. three 2/2s block (and are sacrificed) to block (and kill) a 6/6 with trample? Yes, but the attacker decides how the dmg gets dealt. |
Thanks, so if I got you correctly, even if I kill the creature with an instant before it's usable in combat, any "enter the battlefield" abilities go into effect before the creature is placed in the graveyard?
Re: the trample, how do you mean the attacker decides how the damage is dealt? If the blocking creatures are enough to absorb the damage, there's no damage to decide, it just goes to the blocking creatures, right? |
The trample dmg can be blocked by multiple creatures yes. For trample only the defense counts.
So any creatures you have that are blockers (ie they get or deal no dmg) only block the defense dmg. Rest goes through. As for your multiple creatures question: Opponent has trample card 8/8 You block with multiple creatures. 2/2 , 1/3 , 4/3, 4/4 Then all trample dmg will be absorbed, but opponent chooses which card takes the dmg. In this case he would kill of the 2 big cards and ignore your 2 weaker. |
Quote:
The card cannot attack tho even if it has Haste, as instants and come before the combat. |
Quote:
When the creature is placed on the stack, any "when you play this creature" or "when you cast this creature" effects also go on the stack. Those effects happen BEFORE that creature comes into play. Things like Counterspell target spells specifically, so this is when you would use that, but it won't stop the triggering abilities as they are already on the stack. (the counterspell can't target abilities either, just spells) When the creature spell resolves, the creature is then placed on the table as a real thing and abilities worded "comes into play" or "enters the battlefield" abilities automatically trigger. You can NOW target the creature with the lightning bolt, but it will not prevent those abilities from happening (except in special circumstances, like "when this creature enters the battlefield, if it is still in play, it deals 3 damage to target player", if you bolt that in response to that kind of ability, it isn't in play anymore, and the ability fizzles) Yes you can multi-block any creature. The defender chooses the order in which those creatures take damage. So if you block an 6/6 with a 4/4 first and a 3/3 second, the 4/4 will take 4 damage and die, and the 3/3 will take 2 damage and not die. If you block in the other order, the 3/3 will take 3 damage and die, and the 4/4 would take 3 damage and live. If the total damage exceeds the total defenses of the creatures blocking, then the rest carries over to the player. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
You do it all the time without thinking. Then try to explain it and you'll have to dig for how it works http://www.discussworldissues.com/fo...es/tongue1.gif Anyway, in the stack its a spell yes. And cannot by targeted by a "destroy target creature" card for example. You can however counter it with counterspell, the creature card will not resolve and its effect wont happen. |
Quote:
And I guess I had the blocking thing wrong, thanks for reminding me. Remember though, if you have a giant growth, you get a chance to play it after the blocking order is declared. EDIT: And stack is easy. Cards/abilities played in this order on the stack: [card 1] > [ability] > [card 2] Stack resolves in reverse order off the stack: [card 1] <b> |
Ok, thanks for the clarifications. So a creature isn't a creature until it resolves, and therefore can't be targeted by a "damage creature" instant until it leaves the stack. To target it on the stack, it has to be a counterspell.
Did I get that right? http://www.discussworldissues.com/fo...s/excited1.gif |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
I picked up some MTG13 cards last week. Its been about 10 years since I last played. Had a thoroughly enjoyable evening yesterday getting back into the game together with a good friend of mine.
So far I've got the free intro deck (30 card red), the Fatpack, plus the green starter deck (60 cards plus 2 boosters). That provided me enough cards to build one 60 card blue/black, and one 60 card red/green deck, with cards left over. My blue/black deck also includes Nicol Bolas (plus a few red lands, and cards that enable me to search and play these lands). Last game I managed to get all the necessary lands out, but Bolas never showed http://www.discussworldissues.com/fo...ilies/sad1.gif |
^^ I want to play again. http://www.discussworldissues.com/fo...s/biggrin1.gif Stuck with the PC version atm as school days are long over and the ppl i played with, i dont have contact with anymore. http://www.discussworldissues.com/fo...ilies/cry1.gif
Still have a big box in the attic filled with 4th edition / Visions. So had alot of reading up todo when i restarted with the 2013 game. |
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:25 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2