LOGO
Reply to Thread New Thread
Old 01-07-2012, 01:48 PM   #1
haudraufwienix

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
460
Senior Member
Default Equitable Stroke Control?
How many of you with a handicap Adjust your Scores for Equitable Stroke Control?
According to the chart as a 14 handicap I am supposed to only turn in a maximum of 7 on any hole. I have not been using this. Everyone I play with scores double the hole as a maximum.
I feel like by adjusting for my handicap it would not be a true representation of my ability??? Or should I adjust? Just wondering what everyone else does?


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
haudraufwienix is offline


Old 01-07-2012, 02:28 PM   #2
jesyflowers

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
409
Senior Member
Default
It's similar to playing stableford.

On the flipside, do you think that one blowup hole on the round, where you shot 11 on the par 4 is a true representation of your skill?


On casual rounds I usually play to 3 over max unless i'm not holding anybody up, which is rare. And in the last 10 rounds, i think i've exceeded that 2 times, with a 9 and a 7 on par 4 and 3.
jesyflowers is offline


Old 01-07-2012, 02:30 PM   #3
haudraufwienix

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
460
Senior Member
Default
Good point!!

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
haudraufwienix is offline


Old 01-07-2012, 02:31 PM   #4
erelvenewmeva

Join Date
Nov 2005
Posts
540
Senior Member
Default
I adjust to a maximum of 7 but luckily I don't have to do it too much anymore. Remember handicap is potential and your potential as a 14 handicap is not to shoot higher than a 7.
erelvenewmeva is offline


Old 01-07-2012, 02:58 PM   #5
haudraufwienix

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
460
Senior Member
Default
I can only think of a handful of holes this would have changed this year and not sure even then it would have changed my index. In my last 25 rounds my highest round is a 93 and lowest an 81. I am typically +/- 2 off of my course handicap.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
haudraufwienix is offline


Old 01-07-2012, 03:46 PM   #6
iqxdvjgmat

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
517
Senior Member
Default
I always adjust mine when necessary. I figure they made the system that way for a reason, so I make sure I adjust mine accordingly. Luckily I very rarely have to adjust anything, but there's always those few times when I do. When you enter scores through the Louisiana Golf Association and enter them hole by hole instead of just your total score, it will adjust it for you when you enter the hole scores.
iqxdvjgmat is offline


Old 01-07-2012, 03:54 PM   #7
obegeLype

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
517
Senior Member
Default
You are inflating your handicap index ( just slightly apparently as you said there are just a few holes this year ) ... But you should assume that everyone uses ESC as required by USGA for ESC. Otherwise, your index will be skewed higher than those using ESC.
obegeLype is offline


Old 01-07-2012, 04:59 PM   #8
MichaelfromSpace

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
409
Senior Member
Default
You are inflating your handicap index ( just slightly apparently as you said there are just a few holes this year ) ... But you should assume that everyone uses ESC as required by USGA for ESC. Otherwise, your index will be skewed higher than those using ESC.
This.

It must be done. Heck, I've had horrible rounds where ESC lops off 5-6 strokes from my gross score. On these days, I certainly don't feel like a single digit HC player or deserving of the adjusted score.

Yet the next day I can come back and fire a mid 70's round on a tough track. I'm not that good to expect that all of the time either. Balance, the system adequately represents potential imo in finding a reasonable median. But only if properly administered.
MichaelfromSpace is offline


Old 01-07-2012, 05:04 PM   #9
Dayreive

Join Date
Nov 2005
Posts
354
Senior Member
Default
ESC is part of the handicap program. If you don't use ESC, and you play in handicap competition, you are cheating. Your handicap will be calculated as higher than it would be if ESC were used.
Dayreive is offline


Old 01-07-2012, 05:09 PM   #10
Uzezqelj

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
585
Senior Member
Default
I write down whatever score I have for the hole, I have never exercised a "Max Stroke Ruke". I hold everything out, and I don't like being given putts...that is no way to prepare for tournament golf when everything needs to be holed. In a high school match I was 2 under going into hole 9, and made a 13. I carded the 13, and I'm pretty sure that was the worst score I've ever had...and hopefully ever will have.

If I make more than a 7 on any one hole in a round, my round is ruined...so if it was an 11 or an 8, it doesn't really matter to me. They both will destroy my round, so I might as well take what I actually made. Just my .02
Uzezqelj is offline


Old 01-07-2012, 05:16 PM   #11
haudraufwienix

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
460
Senior Member
Default
I will definitely start adjusting when need be. (Hopefully not often). Just got a handicap this year and have not used it in play yet.
I went back and looked at my last 25 rounds and it would have been a total of 5 strokes. So I really don't think it would have changed my index by more then .5 at most.

Thanks all!

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
haudraufwienix is offline


Old 01-07-2012, 11:45 PM   #12
Zhgpavye

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
538
Senior Member
Default
I write down the score I get, but when I enter my scores in the GHIN system, I use ESC. That way it is fair to my opponents when I play in tournaments. I don't have to use it much, but it does happen. I try not to use it more than once per round though and hopefully about only once every 4 -5 rounds. I want my score to be a fair representation and not to be considered a sand bagger, yet to also make it a true score. Hope that helps some and isn't too confusing haha.
Zhgpavye is offline


Old 01-07-2012, 11:49 PM   #13
pipojambo

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
502
Senior Member
Default
I just do double par as my maximum. I think 7 is technically what I should use as my max, but a triple on a par 5 is not unheard of whilst a quad on a par 3 is for me.
pipojambo is offline


Old 01-08-2012, 12:00 AM   #14
Zhgpavye

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
538
Senior Member
Default
I just do double par as my maximum. I think 7 is technically what I should use as my max, but a triple on a par 5 is not unheard of whilst a quad on a par 3 is for me.
Very good point.
Zhgpavye is offline


Old 01-08-2012, 12:06 AM   #15
grinaJanoDant

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
533
Senior Member
Default
I never understood why you don't count every shot. It makes no sense to me. I know so many that claim they are a certain hdcp but only take double par or what ever the chart says.
grinaJanoDant is offline


Old 01-08-2012, 12:08 AM   #16
Jifyicyfuhpop

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
448
Senior Member
Default
I don't understand the idea of an upper limit. If I fire 6 balls OB on a par 4 and end up making a 16 or 17, that's what I made. Not a 7. That seems silly to me. Obviously an extreme example, but I always put down the score that I make.
Jifyicyfuhpop is offline


Old 01-08-2012, 12:12 AM   #17
Zhgpavye

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
538
Senior Member
Default
I never understood why you don't count every shot. It makes no sense to me. I know so many that claim they are a certain hdcp but only take double par or what ever the chart says.
while this is true- and I agree, personally I try to keep it consistent. At my home course when the course posts scores for a tournament on the ghin website, they post with ESC. At the same time, if I really blow up big time I don't just automatically write down a 7. good points. now I don't know what I should do.....
Zhgpavye is offline


Old 01-08-2012, 12:16 AM   #18
euylvaygdq

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
624
Senior Member
Default
My course keeps my handicap, I write down what I score, whether it's a 12 or a birdie and I let the course make the adjustments as need be.
euylvaygdq is offline


Old 01-08-2012, 12:17 AM   #19
grinaJanoDant

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
533
Senior Member
Default
while this is true- and I agree, personally I try to keep it consistent. At my home course when the course posts scores for a tournament on the ghin website, they post with ESC. At the same time, if I really blow up big time I don't just automatically write down a 7. good points. now I don't know what I should do.....
Oh I agree that of you're playing in home matches then you should follow
Along with the rules. You don't want to screw up that system.
I'm with Dam, if you make a 10 on a par 4 it's not a 7. Now I know you top 5 and bottom five score are thrown out when you reach 20 scores but does this system skew that a bit.
grinaJanoDant is offline


Old 01-08-2012, 12:19 AM   #20
Zhgpavye

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
538
Senior Member
Default
My course keeps my handicap, I write down what I score, whether it's a 12 or a birdie and I let the course make the adjustments as need be.
Right- so they probably do use ESC then. I am assuming obviously. I guess I don't understand why the USGA supports this if we shouldn't do it. I am questioning both sides now. I can see using it, but I can see against using it also. Great thread.
Zhgpavye is offline



Reply to Thread New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:55 AM.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Design & Developed by Amodity.com
Copyright© Amodity