Reply to Thread New Thread |
|
![]() |
#1 |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#2 |
|
Can someone explain the golf hdcp system to me when it comes to a 15 handicap vs 3 handicap player? In a stroke play situation is it simply the net score comparison? Or is it where the higher handicap player receives strokes on certain holes in a match play In stroke play, the 15 would get 12 shots. If there are stroke play matches on the front and back nine (like a Nassau: front, back, total), the 15 would get 6 on the front and 6 on the back, for a total of 12. |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
|
In match play, the 15 would get 12 shots. The 12 shots would be given, 1 each hole, on the 12 hardest rated holes, according to the scorecard. So then is the 15 getting those 12 strokes subtracted off of their card based on the skill level of their opponent? As in: if I were to play a scratch, I would get the maximum number of strokes based on my max handicap deducted, meaning I would 'technically' be shooting sub 100? |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
|
Interesting, i never knew how the scoring worked out... If you are in a stroke play tournament with 'net' payouts, everyone in the field, would have their scored adjusted down by what their handicap is. |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 |
|
In match play, the 15 would get 12 shots. The 12 shots would be given, 1 each hole, on the 12 hardest rated holes, according to the scorecard. http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Handi...anual/Rule-09/ |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 |
|
Are you sure this is the proper way to handle handicaps? My understanding is each player gets their strokes and it is not a net difference of handicaps. It would probably work out the same either way, but I believe the correct way is player A gets 15 strokes and player B gets 3. It's explained in Rule 9 of the USGA Rules of Golf, but I got a little confused when reading thru it. |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 |
|
Are you sure this is the proper way to handle handicaps? My understanding is each player gets their strokes and it is not a net difference of handicaps. It would probably work out the same either way, but I believe the correct way is player A gets 15 strokes and player B gets 3. It's explained in Rule 9 of the USGA Rules of Golf, but I got a little confused when reading thru it. In stroke play it isn't as important because you simply deduct the handicap strokes from the total after the round is over. They aren't applied to specific holes unless you are playing something like a skins game. Skins is essentially a match type of game within a stroke play round anyway. In that case I would still adjust handicaps off the lowest one. |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#10 |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#11 |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#12 |
|
|
![]() |
Reply to Thread New Thread |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
|