Reply to Thread New Thread |
![]() |
#1 |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#3 |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
|
Assalamualaikum, Subject: alcohol in Cinnabons Date: Mon, 3 Mar 2008 10:08:10 -0500 From: ... To: ... Hello ..., I apologize for not getting back to you sooner as I was out of the country on vacation all last week. The small amount of alcohol contained in the Cinnabon is from 2 sources: the flavorings in the frosting (vanilla and lemon extract) and naturally occurring from the yeast fermentation. The types of alcohol in the extracts are Propylene glycol and benzyl alcohol. The type of alcohol as a result of the yeast fermentation is ethyl alcohol – which evaporates in the baking process. ...., please send me your address and I will be glad to send you some coupons as I was not able to respond back to you immediately. Sincerely, Brenda McGranahan Focus Brands- Cinnabon R & D And in case your're wondering if it's stll halal, yes. Here's the fatwa regarding alcohol in foods: From: ... To: daruliftaa@hotmail.com Subject: Date: Mon, 3 Mar 2008 23:03:15 +0000 Alcohol in Flavourings Most food products nowadays contain some type of flavouring - natural, artificial, or a combination of both. Many of these flavourings contain alcohol, which is used as a carrier or solvent for the flavouring. The actual amount of alcohol in the finished food product may vary, but it is usually around 1% or less, as the alcohol evaporates during the production process. Items such as drinks and ice creams can contain a bit more, since no evaporation takes place. Such a small amount of alcohol is not required to be declared on the ingredients declaration on the packaging of the product. The Foodguide follows the opinion of major contemporary Hanafi scholars including the venerable Mufti Yusuf Sacha of the UK (highly acclaimed foods expert) and Mufti Ashraf Usmani of Pakistan. The fatwa in our times is that synthetic alcohols (and all alcohol not sourced from dates and grapes) in foods and otherwise is pure (tahir), and permitted to use and consume on the conditions that: (a) it is not used as an intoxicant; (b) it is not used as intoxicants as used (i.e. for alcoholic consumption, even a little); (c) it is not used in an amount that intoxicates; (d) it is not used in vain (lahw). Courtesy: Shaykh Faraz Rabbani This is the view propounded by the Foodguide service and rest assured that it is of sound Hanafi scholarship. Nevertheless, if you are a follower of a Maz-hab (school of thought) apart from the Hanafi School or you prefer to refrain from such products then that is fine too. We will try to facilitate such persons by indicating which products are affected on this web-site as far as possible. And i you're still unsure, I sent the above two (the email and the fatwa) , to Mufti Muhammad and asked him about it and he has confirmed it: From: daruliftaa Leicester ... Sent: 04 March 2008 13:08:50 To: ... Wa alaykum assalam Warahmatullah Yes, the answer is correct and good. As long as the alcohol is used only in the flavourings, then it will be Halal. Also, the alcohol dissolves during the manufacturing process. ... Wassalam Hope that helps. Request for duas. Umm Hurairah |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
|
Assalam O Alaikum
The Cinnabon in USA is not Halal because due to presnce of vanilla extract(containing 35% of alcohol), in frosting. This frosting is used on all products except Danish Stick. Although all the ingredients used in their products are kosher certified according to Mr. Hillard in R & D. He also sent me a partial list of the ingredients of their product which are not found on their website. The ingredients of rest of the products will tell the same story. Miss Brenda of Cinnabon in her e-mail to sister umm hurairah left two thing one is the ethyl alcohol(she mentioned benzyl alcohol which is never used in flavoring and also in food products). The second thing she forgot to mentioned that the natural and artificial flavor are used in their base products. The frosting contains two ingredients one is the vanilla extract containing 35% alcohol(MCG considered it as a not Halal ingredient) and the second is lemon extract where Propylene Glycol a Halal solvent was used according Mr. Hillard. They do not have frosting with only lemon extract. They do not have information about the presence or absence of alcohol in the base products. The only product which do not have a frosting is Danish Stick. The Danish stick again has natural and artificial flavor without the information of alcohol used in the flavor. I knew myself that the Danish contains flavor because I developed couple of Danish for a baking company. Sister umm hurairah you mentioned Food Guide service or Darul Ifta. They can not claim that all the Hanafi accept Mufti Yousuf Sacha and Mufti Ashraf Usmani's fatwa. This is their illusion to provide all alcohol containing food products as Halal claiming all Hanafi accept it as Halal. Our Hanafi Mufti Mohammed Hafizur Rahman of Chicago and Hanafi Mufti Syed Ahmedul Quadri of IDEA Dallas, TX do not a consider a food product Halal if alcohol no matter what ever source was used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavor. Mufti Yousuf Sacha and Mufti Ashraf Usmani are always forget that any intoxicant is Haram either in small quantity or large. It is very difficult to determine the source of alcohol used in flavoring either from grape or corn, it is possiblity that flavor companies can mix the alcohol from different sources. Even one of the Imam of Hajrat abu Hanifa disagree with Imam Youse whose refference those mufti saheban are mentioned in the flavoring. The bottom line is that Muslim Consumer Group do not consider all Cinnabon products in USA as Halal products except Danish Stick which is considered as Mushbooh. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed www.muslimconsumergroup.com www.canadianhalalfoods.com |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 |
|
|
![]() |
Reply to Thread New Thread |
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) | |
|