LOGO
Reply to Thread New Thread
Old 02-10-2011, 10:32 AM   #1
womberte

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
408
Senior Member
Default Breaking the gelatin cap to get the medicine inside?


As you know, fish oil is really good for you. But, most fish oils have gelatin caps - which may not be halal. I am thinking about breaking the cap to get the oil inside before taking it. What are your thoughts?
womberte is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 10:37 AM   #2
WhonyGataxott

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
632
Senior Member
Default
wswrwb-

my thoughts are: the capsule is there for a reason, it controls the amount of time over which the medicine inside is released into your body, so I would not mess around with that.
WhonyGataxott is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 11:02 AM   #3
womberte

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
408
Senior Member
Default
Thanks for your reply. After your reply I did a little more research.

I went to their website: http://www.nordicnaturals.com/en/FAQ%27s/FAQs/389.

Point 44 says, "...For all soft gel products except for our Omega-3 in Fish Gelatin Soft Gels, our soft gels are made from FDA approved bovine gelatin /glycerin USP (kosher) and purified water USP. ..."

This means that the gelatin is bovine and kosher, so it should be good for Muslims. Do my fellows agree?
womberte is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 11:20 AM   #4
WhonyGataxott

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
632
Senior Member
Default
Gelatin is considered Kosher by many Jews regardless of its source of origin. If the gelatin is prepared from non-zabiha, Muslims consider it haram (prohibited). Hence foods items such as marshmallows, yogurt, etc., showing kosher symbols are not always halal.
from:
http://www.soundvision.com/info/hala...lal.kosher.asp
WhonyGataxott is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 11:39 AM   #5
womberte

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
408
Senior Member
Default
Hmm
womberte is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 11:44 AM   #6
womberte

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
408
Senior Member
Default
I will email the Jewish organizations and see whether they know anything about where exactly the gelatin comes from. If not, I will just buy the liquid form of fish oil.
womberte is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 02:13 PM   #7
thargeagsaf

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
447
Senior Member
Default
"...For all soft gel products except for our Omega-3 in Fish Gelatin Soft Gels, our soft gels are made from FDA approved bovine gelatin /glycerin USP (kosher)"


This is an interpretation minefield - does that mean they use 'fish gelatine' for omega 3 soft gels?

Or that their 'fish omega 3 soft gels' are the only ones which use non-kosher gelatine?

thargeagsaf is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 02:16 PM   #8
TpDoctorOneTp

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
384
Senior Member
Default
Even if something animal based is Kosher (or slaughtered by a Christian), doesn't the name of Allah have to be said over the animal at the time of slaughter for it to be permissible to consume?
TpDoctorOneTp is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 02:48 PM   #9
thargeagsaf

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
447
Senior Member
Default
Even if something animal based is Kosher (or slaughtered by a Christian), doesn't the name of Allah have to be said over the animal at the time of slaughter for it to be permissible to consume?
I would wait for the 'ulama to answer. But gelatine is not simply 'meat' and there are some special cases (due to chemical changes in production, etc.) which have been clarified by 'ulama on this forum in the past. if you search the forum for 'beef gelatine' or something similar, you may find what I am referring to.
thargeagsaf is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 06:18 PM   #10
Matajic

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
501
Senior Member
Default
could always go for the fish gelatine capsules: http://www.nordicnaturals.com/en/Pro...8/?ProdID=1427


http://www.muftisays.com/qa/question...e-halal,-.html
Matajic is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 10:01 PM   #11
womberte

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
408
Senior Member
Default
It is Omega-3 in Fish Gelatin Soft Gels. So it means all of the products are from kosher beef gelatin except the fish gelatin one which is from fish.
womberte is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 10:03 PM   #12
womberte

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
408
Senior Member
Default
Hehe this simplifies the whole thing. Jazakallah for that.
womberte is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 10:08 PM   #13
womberte

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
408
Senior Member
Default
Information for someone who wants to buy fish oils:

The Ultimate Omega in Fish Gelatin is the better product: http://www.vitaminshoppe.com/store/e...jsp?id=YE-1046. You have to be careful when buying fish oil because many of them do not contain enough EPA and DHA.
womberte is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 10:24 PM   #14
thargeagsaf

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
447
Senior Member
Default
Stupid question.. but... how much more oil/omega 3 is in a capsule than in an oily fish (eg. kipper)?
thargeagsaf is offline


Old 02-10-2011, 10:40 PM   #15
Ettiominiw

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
697
Senior Member
Default
Kosher products are not to be trusted, however you issue about fish gelatin is entirely different as fish are halal in the first place. (if I understood the question properly)

http://www.sunniforum.com/forum/show...at-kosher-meat
Ettiominiw is offline


Old 02-18-2011, 12:59 AM   #16
BILBONDER

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
382
Senior Member
Default
Assalam O Alaikum

Everybody is giving suggestions on gelatin capsule but nobody mentioned about complete ingredient list. Inside capsule there are ingredients beside Omega Fish oil and thos ingredients has to be Halal.

Second point about Kosher gelatin capsule, gelatin under kosher certification are two type orthodox and liberal. Liberal kosher gelatin is made of pork or non zabiha cow. The orthodox Kosher gelatin is actually made from kosherly slaughtered cows. But it is not Zabiha or Halal because the Rabbi Sachet pronounced the name of Allah on first and last cow no prouncemnet on cow number 2 and one before last one.

My best advice to Muslims in Europe to buy Fish Oil suitable for vegetarian label with veggi cap and Muslims in US to go to www.koshervitamins.com and buy kosher certified fish oil but you have to be careful about enteric coating which is Shellac coating obtained by dissolving shellac in alcohol. You have to find whether alcohol was used in enteric coating.

Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA
www.muslimconsumergroup.com
www.canadianhalalfoods.com
BILBONDER is offline


Old 02-18-2011, 02:25 AM   #17
infarrelisam

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
428
Senior Member
Default


As you know, fish oil is really good for you. But, most fish oils have gelatin caps - which may not be halal. I am thinking about breaking the cap to get the oil inside before taking it. What are your thoughts?
aawwb
seven seas do (cod liver oil and multivitamin) capsules in a vegicap.
seven seas also has other products.check their website it gives products and ingredients.
you also have option of cod liver oil liquid.

other vegetarian brands are 1) vertese and 2)solgar but not sure if the the latter two brands do cod liver oil caps in vegetarian capsule.check their websites
infarrelisam is offline


Old 02-18-2011, 12:03 PM   #18
compiit

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
513
Senior Member
Default
Assalamualaikum,



Nordic Naturals seems to be of good quality and indicates that it is ok for fish eating vegetarians (only fish gelatin and not other animal based fats/ingredients), but wouldn't hurt to still confirm with the manufacturers

Nordic Naturals (has a very good reputation for quality of the fish oil)
http://www.iherb.com/ProductDetails.aspx?pid=7052&at=0

Renew Life
http://www.iherb.com/ProductDetails....205984444&at=0

Secondly, I would definitely recommend black seed oil - in fact you don't even need the gelcaps (although companies like sweet sunnah do make them) - just take about a teaspoon or two of black seed oil daily mixed with honey if you like (preferably with meals) and InshaAllah you will note remarkable benefits in your overall health quite soon.
compiit is offline


Old 02-18-2011, 08:46 PM   #19
Brutton

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
493
Senior Member
Default
salam alikom ,to Breaking the gelatin cap to get the medicine inside and drink it this way can make problems in stomack ,it give agar agar we can use it instead of gelantine and and alot of kind which is nt from meat also alot of 3 numbers say its from animal which are may hav a egg inside and the egg is from aminal so we should be careful and try wirte the company or ask abt it to know ecxatly wat iis inside=) and allah allem salam alikom
Brutton is offline


Old 02-20-2011, 10:57 PM   #20
BILBONDER

Join Date
Oct 2005
Posts
382
Senior Member
Default
Assalam O Alaikum

Agar Agar is not gelatin, it is a Halal gum and it is hydrocolloid, behave like gelatin. Gelatin can not be made from plant source because they lack structural protein collagen from which gelatin is made. Gelatin is only made from cow or pork or fish collagen.

Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA
www.muslimconsumergroup.com
www.canadianhalalfoods.com
BILBONDER is offline



Reply to Thread New Thread

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:54 AM.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Design & Developed by Amodity.com
Copyright© Amodity